### NomCom Chair Report 2010-2011

IETF 80 Tom Walsh <u>nomcom-chair@ietf.org</u> <u>twalsh@juniper.net</u>

## NomCom Confidentiality

- All NomCom members are bound by the confidentiality rules of RFC 3777 including:
- Chair
- Chair Advisor
- Liaison
- Tool Advisor
- Voting Members

### NomCom Chair, Liaison, & Advisors

Chairs

- Nomcom Chair: Tom Walsh
- Nomcom Chair Advisor (past year chair): Mary Barnes

Liaisons

- IAB Liaison: Spencer Dawkins
- IAOC Liaison: Ole Jacobsen
- IESG Liaison: Dan Romascanu
- ISOC Liaison: Eric Burger

Tools

Henrik Levkowetz

## **NomCom Voting Members**

- Gregory Cauchie
- Mehmet Ersue
- Dorothy Gellert
- Tony Hansen
- Suresh Krishnan
- Dirk Kroeselberg
- Jan Seedorf
- Pete St. Pierre
- Rolf Winter

France Telecom Orange Nokia Siemens Networks **InterDigital Communications** AT&T Labs Ericsson Siemens **NEC Laboratories Europe** Oracle **NEC Laboratories Europe** 

### **Final Timeline**

- Call for Volunteers
  - June 8
- Call for Nominations
  - August 27 October 8:
- Deliberations:
  - October 1 November 7
- Final Deliberations:
  - November 7 December 20
- NomCom write-ups for Confirming Bodies:
  - December 20 January 8
- Confirmation of Candidates initiated
  - January 10
- Final Announcement:
  - February 9
- Completed work on time

## This Year's Selections

#### IETF Chair / GEN AD

Russ Housley

#### IESG

- APP: Pete Resnick
- INT: Ralph Droms
- OPS: Ron Bonica
- RAI: Robert Sparks
- RTG: Adrian Farrel
- SEC: Stephen Farrell
- TSV: Wesley Eddy

#### IAOC

Dave Crocker

#### IAB

- Allisa Cooper
- Joel Halpern
- David Kessens
- Danny McPherson
- Jon Peterson
- Dave Thaler

# Lobbying

- Lobbying was a major concern for the previous NomCom
- No evidence was detected during this NomCom
- The community conducted itself very well
- Thank you

## Final Thoughts

- Total nominations were down
- First implementation of Open List
- Work completed with 9 voting members
- More detail in the NomCom Chair's report
- Please consider volunteering for the next NomCom (before IETF 81)
- Please support NomCom 2011-2012

### Acknowledgements

- Please thank all the NomCom Members
  - Orange Dots on their badge
- Our thanks to the confirming bodies: IESG, IAB, and ISOC BOT
- Mary Barnes for outstanding support as the Chair Advisor
- Tony Hansen for significant improvements to the NomCom Tools
- Henrik Levkowetz for outstanding support as our NomCom Tool Advisor
- Most Important of all: Our thanks to the Community for your support, feedback, and participation in the process

### Thank you

### Tom Walsh Chair, 2010-2011 NomCom