Monthly Archives: February 2017

Reviewing and Assessing the IETF Administrative Support Activity

Ranakpur-Jain-Marble-Temple-pillars-Frescoes-Apr-2004-02

The current IETF Administrative Support Activity (IASA) arrangements were created more than ten years ago when the IETF initially took charge of its own administration [1]. The arrangements have served the IETF well, but there’s been considerable change in the necessary tasks and in the world around us since then [2]. What administrative arrangements will best support the IETF going forward?

A series of virtual workshops have been arranged as part of an effort, dubbed the IASA 2.0 project, to gather community input as part of a review and possibly rework of IASA arrangements.

The workshops will help understand what is working well and what challenges or missed opportunities exist in the current system. We also want to understand what the IETF will need in coming years. Possible topics include:

  • internal IASA and IAOC organizational issues;
  • roles and interfaces between the IETF, the IAOC, ISOC, the IESG, and contractors;
  • availability of staff, contractor, and volunteer resources compared to the administrative workload;
  • finance and sponsorship arrangements.

The workshops will be virtual meetings where the participants can provide their experiences and suggestions. Proposed changes and solutions will be dealt with in a later phase [3]. Meeting notes and an Internet Draft summarizing the input will be produced afterwards.

The agenda will be the same for both workshops, which are scheduled to accommodate participants in different timezones:

IASA 2.0 Workshop 1
Tuesday, 28 February 2017
11:00 UTC (6:00AM ET / 12:00 noon CET)

IASA 2.0 Workshop 2
Tuesday, 28 February 2017
16:00 UTC (11:00AM ET / 17:00 CET).

These documents will be helpful to review in advance of the workshop:

[1] http://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc4071
[2] http://tools.ietf.org/html/draft-daigle-iasa-retrospective
[3] https://www.ietf.org/blog/2016/11/proposed-project-ietf-administrative-support-2-0/

The agenda and connection details can be found here:

[4] agenda
[5] meeting materials

Jari Arkko, IETF Chair
Alissa Cooper, Incoming IETF Chair

Photo credit: Acred99 in Wikimedia (CC BY-SA 3.0)