Skip to main content

Filter by topic and date

Filter by topic and date

Internet Architecture Board and Internet Engineering Steering Group Seat Members for 2017-2018

21 Apr 2017

Newly selected members of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) and the Internet Engineering Steering Committee (IESG) were officially seated in their new roles during the 98th Internet Engineering Task Force Meeting held in Chicago on 26-31 March 2107.

The IAB provides oversight and commentary on aspects of the Internet’s technical architecture. IAB members for 2017-2018 are:

  • Alissa Cooper, IETF Chair, Cisco
  • Brian Trammell, ETH Zurich
  • Erik Nordmark, Arista
  • Gabriel Montenegro, Microsoft•  
  • Jari Arkko, Ericsson
  • Jeff Tantsura, Futurewei
  • Joe Hildebrand, Mozilla
  • Lee Howard, Independent
  • Mark Nottingham, Akamai Technologies
  • Martin Thomson, Mozilla
  • Robert Sparks, Oracle
  • Suzanne Woolf, Independent
  • Ted Hardie, Google 

Ted Hardie was selected as IAB Chair. For more information, see the IAB website.

The IESG is responsible for technical management of IETF activities and the Internet standards process, including final approval of specifications as Internet standards. The work of the IETF is organized into six technical areas. The IESG consists of the area directors (ADs) for each area, who are generally each appointed for two-year terms. The current IESG members are:

Applications and Real-Time (ART) Area

  • Ben Campbell, Oracle
  • Alexey Melnikov, Isode
  • Adam Roach, Mozilla

Internet (INT) Area

  • Suresh Krishnan, Ericsson
  • Terry Manderson, ICANN

Operations and Management (OPS) Area

  • Benoît Claise, Cisco
  • Warren Kumari, Google

Routing (RTG) Area

  • Alia Atlas, Juniper Networks
  • Deborah Brungard, AT&T
  • Alvaro Retana, Cisco

Security (SEC) Area

  • Kathleen Moriarty, Dell EMC
  • Eric Rescorla, Mozilla

Transport (TSV) Area

  • Spencer Dawkins, Wonder Hamster Internetworking
  • Mirja Kühlewind, ETH Zurich

Alissa Cooper is IETF Chair and the area director for the General (GEN) Area. More information on the IESG is available here.

The 2016-2017 IETF Nominating Committee, chaired by Lucy Lynch, was responsible for the deliberations and selection of the candidates for the open slots in the IAB and IESG.

About the Internet Architecture Board

The Internet Architecture Board provides long-range technical direction for Internet development, ensuring the Internet continues to grow and evolve as a platform for global communication and innovation. More information is available on the IAB website.

About the Internet Engineering Task Force

The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) is the Internet's premier technical standards body. It gathers a large open international community of network designers, engineers, operators, vendors, and researchers concerned with the evolution of the Internet architecture and the smooth operation of the Internet. More information about the IETF is available here.

Share this page