Skip to main content

Filter by topic and date

Filter by topic and date

Internet Architecture Board and Internet Engineering Steering Group Seat Members for 2019-2020

27 Mar 2019

More than 1200 leading technologists gathered 
for the 104th Internet Engineering Task Force meeting in Prague

Newly selected members of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) and the Internet Engineering Steering Committee (IESG) were officially seated in their new roles during the 104th Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) meeting held in Prague this week. The mission of the IETF is to make the Internet work better by setting high-quality technical standards for the global Internet.

The IAB provides oversight and commentary on aspects of the Internet’s technical architecture. Current IAB members are:

  • Alissa Cooper, IETF Chair, Cisco
  • Brian Trammell, Google
  • Christian Huitema, Independent
  • Erik Nordmark, Zededa
  • Jari Arkko, Ericsson
  • Jeff Tantsura, Apstra
  • Mark Nottingham, Fastly
  • Martin Thomson, Mozilla
  • Melinda Shore, Fastly
  • Stephen Farrell, Trinity College Dublin
  • Ted Hardie, Google
  • Wes Hardaker, USC/ISI
  • Zhenbin Li, Huawei

Colin Perkins, who was recently selected as Chair of the Internet Research Task Force (IRTF), will serve as a non-voting member of the IAB.

Ted Hardie was selected as IAB Chair. See the IAB website for more information.

The IESG is responsible for technical management of IETF activities and the Internet standards process, including final approval of specifications as Internet standards. The work of the IETF is organized into six technical areas. The IESG consists of the area directors (ADs) for each area, who are generally each appointed for two-year terms. The current IESG members are:

Applications and Real-Time (ART) Area

  • Barry Leiba, Huawei
  • Alexey Melnikov, Isode
  • Adam Roach, Mozilla

General (GEN) Area

  • Alissa Cooper, Cisco

Internet (INT) Area

  • Suresh Krishnan, Kaloom
  • Éric Vyncke, Cisco

Operations and Management (OPS) Area

  • Ignas Bagdonas, Equinix
  • Warren Kumari, Google

Routing (RTG) Area

  • Deborah Brungard, AT&T
  • Alvaro Retana, Huawei R&D USA
  • Martin Vigoureux, Nokia

Security (SEC) Area

  • Roman Danyliw, Carnegie Mellon University/Software Engineering Institute
  • Benjamin Kaduk, Akamai Technologies

Transport (TSV) Area

  • Mirja Kühlewind, Ericsson
  • Magnus Westerlund, Ericsson

In addition to her role as the Area Director for the General Area, Alissa Cooper will serve as  the IETF Chair. The IAB chair, Ted Hardie, will also serve as an ex officio member of the IESG. More information is available on the IESG webpage.

The 2018-2019 IETF Nominating Committee, chaired by Scott Mansfield, was responsible for the deliberations and selection of the candidates for the open slots in the IAB and IESG.

About the Internet Architecture Board

The Internet Architecture Board provides long-range technical direction for Internet development, ensuring the Internet continues to grow and evolve as a platform for global communication and innovation. For more information, see:

About the Internet Engineering Task Force

The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) is the Internet's premier technical standards body. It gathers a large open international community of network designers, engineers, operators, vendors, and researchers concerned with the evolution of the Internet architecture and the smooth operation of the Internet. For more information, see:

Share this page