Skip to main content
  • A New Model for the RFC Editor Function

    The new RFC Editor Model is intended to provide greater transparency, improved responsiveness to the needs of the community, and increased clarity regarding the roles and responsibilities of the groups and individuals involved.

    • Peter Saint-Andre
    27 Jun 2022
  • Finalizing the IETF tools transition

    The final stage of transitioning services from will take place over the next few weeks. New services are in place, and some older services will disappear. Several measures are planned to ensure these final steps proceed smoothly.

    • Robert SparksIETF Tools Project Manager
    17 Jun 2022
  • Update from the first in-person IAB, IESG, and IETF LLC Board joint retreat

    The IAB, IESG, and IETF LLC Board convened for the first joint retreat in San Francisco from May 17 to 20, 2022, generously hosted by Google at one of their offices.

    • Mirja KühlewindIAB Chair
    15 Jun 2022
  • Towards a net zero IETF

    Introducing a new project to measure and potentially offset IETF carbon emissions so that the IETF could potentially reach the level of a net zero emitter.

    • Jay DaleyIETF Executive Director
    6 May 2022
  • IETF 113 post-meeting survey

    The results from our IETF 113 post-meeting survey are now available on a web-based interactive dashboard. This commentary highlights where changes we have made based on feedback have been a success, and areas we still need to work on.

    • Jay DaleyIETF Executive Director
    2 May 2022

Filter by topic and date

Filter by topic and date

Internet Architecture Board and Internet Engineering Steering Group Seat Members for 2018-2019

    21 Mar 2018

    More than 1000 leading technologists gathered 
for the 101st Internet Engineering Task Force meeting in London

    [LONDON]  21 March 2018 — Newly selected members of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) and the Internet Engineering Steering Committee (IESG) were officially seated in their new roles during the 101st Internet Engineering Task Force Meeting held in London this week. The mission of the IETF is to make the Internet work better by setting high-quality technical standards for the global Internet.

    The IAB provides oversight and commentary on aspects of the Internet’s technical architecture. Current IAB members are:

    • Alissa Cooper, IETF Chair, Cisco
    • Brian Trammell, ETH Zurich
    • Christian Huitema, Independent
    • Erik Nordmark, Zededa
    • Gabriel Montenegro, Microsoft
    • Jari Arkko, Ericsson
    • Jeff Tantsura, Nuage Networks
    • Mark Nottingham, Fastly
    • Martin Thomson, Mozilla
    • Melinda Shore, Fastly
    • Robert Sparks, Independent
    • Suzanne Woolf, Independent
    • Ted Hardie, Google

    Ted Hardie was selected as IAB Chair. See the IAB website for more information.

    The IESG is responsible for technical management of IETF activities and the Internet standards process, including final approval of specifications as Internet standards. The work of the IETF is organized into six technical areas. The IESG consists of the area directors (ADs) for each area, who are generally each appointed for two-year terms. The current IESG members are:

    Applications and Real-Time (ART) Area

    • Ben Campbell, Independent
    • Alexey Melnikov, Isode
    • Adam Roach, Mozilla

    Internet (INT) Area

    • Suresh Krishnan, Kaloom
    • Terry Manderson, ICANN

    Operations and Management (OPS) Area

    • Ignas Bagdonas, Equinix
    • Warren Kumari, Google

    Routing (RTG) Area

    • Deborah Brungard, AT&T
    • Alvaro Retana, Huawei R&D USA
    • Martin Vigoureux, Nokia

    Security (SEC) Area

    • Benjamin Kaduk, Akamai Technologies
    • Eric Rescorla, Mozilla

    Transport (TSV) Area

    • Spencer Dawkins, Wonder Hamster Internetworking
    • Mirja Kühlewind, ETH Zurich

    Alissa Cooper is IETF Chair and the area director for the General (GEN) Area. More information is available on the IESG webpage.

    The 2017-2018 IETF Nominating Committee, chaired by Peter Yee, was responsible for the deliberations and selection of the candidates for the open slots in the IAB and IESG.

    About the Internet Architecture Board

    The Internet Architecture Board provides long-range technical direction for Internet development, ensuring the Internet continues to grow and evolve as a platform for global communication and innovation. For more information, see:

    About the Internet Engineering Task Force

    The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) is the Internet's premier technical standards body. It gathers a large open international community of network designers, engineers, operators, vendors, and researchers concerned with the evolution of the Internet architecture and the smooth operation of the Internet. For more information, see:

    Share this page