Skip to main content

Filter by topic and date

Filter by topic and date

Internet Engineering Task Force and Internet Architecture Board Announce New Leadership Teams

13 Mar 2013

IETF participants define the standards for the global network that connects more than 2 billion people

The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF), the Internet's premier standards organization and the Internet Architecture Board (IAB), which provides technical oversight of IETF activities, have announced new leadership teams. 

The leadership transition will take place this week in conjunction with the IETF 86 meeting being held in Orlando, Florida, where nearly 1200 leading Internet engineers and technologists from around the world are gathered to develop standards for services and technologies that form the foundation for Internet capabilities such as domain names, email, the Web, and instant messaging used by billions of people.

Jari Arkko, will serve as IETF Chair. The following individuals will serve as directors for each IETF Area, and as a group will form the Internet Engineering Steering Group (IESG), which oversees the more than 100 technical working groups that produce Internet standards:

  • Applications Area: Pete Resnick 
  • Internet Area: Ted Lemon
  • Operations and Management Area: Joel Jaeggli, 
  • Real-time Applications and Infrastructure: Richard Barnes 
  • Routing Area: Adrian Farrel
  • Security Area: Stephen Farrell

The newly selected IESG members join current Area Directors:

  • Applications Area: Barry Leiba
  • Internet Area: Brian Haberman
  • Operations and Management Area: Benoit Claise
  • Real-time Applications and Infrastructure: Gonzalo Camarillo
  • Routing Area: Stewart Bryant
  • Transport Area: Martin Stiemerling
  • Security Area: Sean Turner

More information on IETF leadership can be found at:

Russ Housley, who is stepping down as IETF Chair, was elected as IAB Chair. The following individuals have been selected to serve on the IAB:

  • Alissa Cooper
  • Joel Halpern
  • Dave Thaler 
  • Russ Housley
  • Xing Li 
  • Andrew Sullivan 
  • Eliot Lear 

The newly selected members will join current members of the IAB:

  • Bernard Aboba
  • Marc Blanchet
  • Ross Callon
  • Spencer Dawkins
  • Hannes Tschofenig

More information on the IAB can be found at:

Throughout its history, the IETF pioneered a unique, open process for standards development, which is open to all, and based on principles such as "rough consensus and running code." While the work of the IETF takes place online, largely through email lists to reduce barriers to participation and to maximize contributions from around the world, its in-person meetings have gathered more nearly 100,000 participants over the past 27 years.

About the Internet Engineering Task Force

The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) is the Internet's premier technical standards body. It gathers a large open international community of network designers, engineers, operators, vendors, and researchers concerned with the evolution of the Internet architecture and the smooth operation of the Internet. The IETF seeks broad participation. The work of the IETF takes place online, largely through email lists, reducing barriers to participation and maximizing contributions from around the world. IETF Working Groups (WGs) are organized by topic into several areas (e.g., routing, transport, security, etc.).

For more information, see:

About the Internet Architecture Board

The IAB is chartered both as a committee of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) and as an advisory body of the Internet Society (ISOC). Its responsibilities include architectural oversight of IETF activities, Internet Standards Process oversight and appeal, and the appointment of the RFC Editor. The IAB is also responsible for the management of the IETF protocol parameter registries. 

For more information, see:

Share this page