Skip to main content
  • Towards a net zero IETF

    Introducing a new project to measure and potentially offset IETF carbon emissions so that the IETF could potentially reach the level of a net zero emitter.

    • Jay DaleyIETF Executive Director
    6 May 2022
  • IETF 113 post-meeting survey

    The results from our IETF 113 post-meeting survey are now available on a web-based interactive dashboard. This commentary highlights where changes we have made based on feedback have been a success, and areas we still need to work on.

    • Jay DaleyIETF Executive Director
    2 May 2022
  • IETF 113 Hackathon – Back in person!

    The IETF 113 Hackathon held 19-20 March 2022 in Vienna and online marked the return to in-person collaboration on running code related to Internet standards.

    • Charles EckelIETF Hackathon Co-chair
    19 Apr 2022
  • IETF Datatracker updates and service outages planned

    Two updates in the coming weeks will significantly revise the look of the IETF Datatracker and, after a short outage on 25 April 2022, upgrade the hardware for most IETF services.

    • Robert SparksIETF Tools Project Manager
    13 Apr 2022
  • New Independent Submissions Editor looks for interoperability, continuous improvement

    Eliot Lear, a long-time Internet Engineering Task Force participant and engineer for Cisco Systems, was recently appointed independent submissions editor by the Internet Architecture Board (IAB).

    • Grant GrossIETF Blog Reporter
    31 Mar 2022

Filter by topic and date

Filter by topic and date

New Internet Architecture Board and Internet Engineering Steering Group Meet for First Time

    10 Mar 2021

    Newly selected members of the Internet Architecture Board (IAB) and the Internet Engineering Steering Group (IESG) were officially seated in their new roles this week during the 110th Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) meeting.

    More than 1000 leading technologists gather online for Internet Engineering Task Force meeting

    The mission of the IETF is to make the Internet work better by setting high-quality technical standards for the global Internet. IETF 110 is being held online 8-12 March.

    The 2020-2021 IETF Nominating Committee (NomCom) chaired by Barbara Stark was responsible for considering candidates for open seats in the IAB and IESG. Candidates selected by the NomCom are indicated by asterisks in the lists below. Other members are continuing existing terms.

    Internet Architecture Board

    The IAB provides oversight and commentary on aspects of the Internet’s technical architecture. IAB members for the upcoming year are:

    • Jari Arkko, Ericsson
    • Deborah Brungard, AT&T
    • Ben Campbell, independent consultant
    • Lars Eggert, NetApp
    • Wes Hardaker, USC/ISI
    • Cullen Jennings, Cisco
    • Mirja Kühlewind, Ericsson
    • Zhenbin Li, Huawei
    • Jared Mauch, Akamai Technologies
    • Tommy Pauly, Apple
    • David Schinazi, Google
    • Russ White, Juniper
    • Jiankang Yao 姚健康, CNNIC China Internet Network Information Center

    Colin Perkins, Chair of the Internet Research Task Force (IRTF), will serve as an ex-officio member of the IAB. Mirja Kühlewind was selected for a second term as IAB Chair. See the IAB website for more information.

    Internet Engineering Steering Group

    The IESG is responsible for technical management of IETF activities and the Internet standards process, including final approval of specifications as Internet standards. The work of the IETF is organized into six technical areas and one administrative (general) area. The IESG consists of the area directors (ADs) for each area, who are generally each appointed for two-year terms. The current IESG members are:

    Applications and Real-Time (ART) Area

    • Murray Kucherawy, Facebook 
    • Francesca Palombini, Ericsson

    General (GEN) Area

    • Lars Eggert, NetApp

    Internet (INT) Area

    • Erik Kline*, Loon LLC
    • Éric Vyncke, Cisco

    Operations and Management (OPS) Area

    • Warren Kumari, Google
    • Robert Wilton, Cisco

    Routing (RTG) Area

    • Alvaro Retana, Futurewei
    • John Scudder, Juniper
    • Martin Vigoureux, Nokia

    Security (SEC) Area

    • Roman Danyliw, CERT/Software Engineering Institute
    • Benjamin Kaduk, Akamai Technologies

    Transport (TSV) Area

    • Martin Duke, F5 Networks.
    • Zaheduzzaman Sarker, Ericsson

    In addition to his role as the Area Director for the General Area, Lars Eggert will serve as  the IETF Chair. The IAB Chair, Mirja Kühlewind, will also serve as an ex-officio member of the IESG. More information is available on the IESG webpage.

    Share this page