Skip to main content
  • Banishing the bane of bufferbloat

    Bufferbloat affects everyone who uses the Internet, resulting in frustratingly slow web browsing, laggy video calls, and overall poor quality of experience for Internet users and there's a lot of work underway in the IETF to address it.

    • Bjørn Ivar TeigenIETF Participant
    23 May 2023
  • IETF 116 post-meeting survey

    IETF 116 Yokohama was held 25-31 March 2023 and the results of the post-meeting survey are now available on a web-based interactive dashboard.

    • Jay DaleyIETF Executive Director
    26 Apr 2023
  • Catching up on IETF 116

    Recordings are now available for sessions held during the IETF 115 meeting and the IETF Hackathon, where more than 1500 participants gathered in London and online 5-11 November 2022.

      1 Apr 2023
    • Reducing IETF Meeting Scheduling Conflicts

      With many IETF participants active across a number of active working groups and limited time slots in an IETF meeting week, we aim to arrange sessions in the agenda to minimize conflicts that prevent participants from joining sessions that are of interest to them. In each post-meeting survey we ask meeting participants to comment on the scheduling conflicts they experienced in the meeting agenda and we then use this information to improve the meeting agenda.

      • Alexa MorrisIETF Managing Director
      31 Mar 2023
    • Messaging Layer Security: Secure and Usable End-to-End Encryption

      The IETF has approved publication of Messaging Layer Security (MLS), a new standard for end-to-end security that will make it easy for apps to provide the highest level of security to their users. End-to-end encryption is an increasingly important security feature in Internet applications. It keeps users’ information safe even if the cloud service they’re using has been breached.

      • Nick SullivanMLS Working Group Chair
      • Sean TurnerMLS Working Group Chair
      29 Mar 2023

    Filter by topic and date

    Filter by topic and date

    New Internet Architecture Board, IETF Trust, IETF LLC and Internet Engineering Task Force Leadership Announced

    • Gabriel MontenegroIETF Nominating Committee Chair

    24 Jan 2022

    Members of the incoming Internet Architecture Board (IAB), the IETF Trust, the IETF Administration LLC (IETF LLC) Board of Directors, and the Internet Engineering Steering Group (IESG)—which provides leadership for the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF)—have been officially announced, with new members selected by the 2021-2022 IETF Nominating Committee.

    The IETF sets technical standards for the global Internet and the IAB provides long-range technical direction for Internet development. 

    The 2021-2022 IETF Nominating Committee (NomCom) chaired by Gabriel Montenegro was responsible for considering candidates for open seats on the IETF LLC Board, the IETF Trust, the IAB, and the IESG. Candidates selected by the NomCom are indicated by asterisks in the lists below. Other members are continuing existing terms.

    The new IAB and IESG will be officially seated at the upcoming IETF 113 meeting scheduled to be held on 19-25 March 2022 in Vienna, Austria. New members of the IETF Trust and IETF LLC Board will be seated at the next meetings of—or as otherwise provided by the procedures of—the respective bodies.

    Internet Architecture Board

    The IAB provides oversight and commentary on aspects of the Internet’s technical architecture. IAB members beginning in March will be:

    • Jari Arkko, Ericsson
    • Deborah Brungard, AT&T
    • Lars Eggert, NetApp
    • Wes Hardaker, USC/ISI
    • Cullen Jennings*, Cisco
    • Mallory Knodel*, Center for Democracy and Technology
    • Mirja Kühlewind*, Ericsson
    • Zhenbin Li, Huawei
    • Tommy Pauly*, Apple
    • David Schinazi, Google
    • Russ White, Juniper
    • Qin Wu*, Huawei Technologies
    • Jiankang Yao 姚健康*, CNNIC China Internet Network Information Center

    Colin Perkins, Chair of the Internet Research Task Force (IRTF), will serve as an ex-officio member of the IAB.  See the IAB website for more information.

    Internet Engineering Steering Group

    The IESG is responsible for technical management of IETF activities and the Internet standards process, including final approval of specifications as Internet standards. The work of the IETF is organized into six technical areas and one administrative (general) area. The IESG consists of the area directors (ADs) for each area, who are generally each appointed for two-year terms. Members of the IESG beginning 21 March will be:

    Applications and Real-Time (ART) Area

    • Murray Kucherawy*, Facebook
    • Francesca Palombini, Ericsson

    General (GEN) Area

    • Lars Eggert, NetApp

    Internet (INT) Area

    • Erik Kline*, Google
    • Éric Vyncke, Cisco

    Operations and Management (OPS) Area

    • Warren Kumari, Google
    • Robert Wilton*, Cisco

    Routing (RTG) Area

    • Andrew Alston*, Liquid Intelligent Technologies
    • Alvaro Retana, Futurewei
    • John Scudder, Juniper

    Security (SEC) Area

    • Roman Danyliw, CERT/Software Engineering Institute
    • Paul Wouters*, Aiven

    Transport (TSV) Area

    • Martin Duke*, Google
    • Zaheduzzaman Sarker, Ericsson

    In addition to his role as the Area Director for the General Area, Lars Eggert will serve as  the IETF Chair. The IAB Chair also serves  as an ex-officio member of the IESG. More information is available on the IESG webpage.

    IETF Administration LLC Board of Directors

    The IETF LLC provides the corporate legal home for the IETF, the IAB, and the IRTF. Responsibilities of the IETF LLC include: supporting the ongoing operations of the IETF, managing the IETF's finances and budget, raising money on behalf of the IETF, and establishing and enforcing policies. Members of the IETF LLC Board of Directors are:

    IETF Trust

    The IETF Trust acquires, holds, maintains and licenses intellectual property and other property used in connection with the Internet standards process.  IETF Trustees are:

    A Word from the Nominating Committee

    The members of the 2021-2022 IETF Nominating Committee (NomCom) thank all of the members of the community who offered to serve on the IESG, IAB, IETF LLC and IETF Trust.

    Additionally, our thanks go out to the many members of the community who have supported the NomCom process. This is primarily a community of volunteers and the NomCom is extremely grateful to everyone who aided us in our task.

    With this announcement, the regular work of the NomCom 2021-2022 is at an end.  

    Share this page