Skip to main content

Filter by topic and date

Filter by topic and date

New Internet Architecture Board, IETF Trust, IETF LLC and Internet Engineering Task Force Leadership Announced

13 Feb 2023

Members of the incoming Internet Architecture Board (IAB), the IETF Trust, the IETF Administration LLC (IETF LLC) Board of Directors, and the Internet Engineering Steering Group (IESG)—which provides leadership for the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF)—have been officially announced, with new members selected by the 2022-2023 IETF Nominating Committee.

The IETF sets technical standards for the global Internet and the IAB provides long-range technical direction for Internet development. 

The 2022-2023 IETF Nominating Committee (NomCom) chaired by Rich Salz was responsible for considering candidates for open seats on the IETF LLC Board, the IETF Trust, the IAB, and the IESG. Candidates selected by the NomCom are indicated by asterisks in the lists below. Other members are continuing their existing terms.

The new IAB and IESG will be officially seated during the upcoming IETF 116 meeting scheduled to be held on 25-31 March 2022 in Yokohama, Japan. New members of the IETF Trust and IETF LLC Board will be seated at the next meetings of the respective bodies.

Internet Architecture Board

The IAB provides oversight and commentary on aspects of the Internet’s technical architecture. IAB members beginning in March will be:

  • Dhruv Dhody*, Huawei
  • Lars Eggert, NetApp (as IETF Chair)
  • Wes Hardaker*, USC/ISI
  • Cullen Jennings, Cisco
  • Mallory Knodel, Center for Democracy and Technology
  • Suresh Krishnan*,  Cisco
  • Mirja Kühlewind, Ericsson
  • Tommy Pauly, Apple
  • Alvaro Retana*, Futurewei
  • David Schinazi*, Google
  • Christopher Wood*, Cloudflare
  • Qin Wu, Huawei Technologies
  • Jiankang Yao 姚健康, CNNIC China Internet Network Information Center

Colin Perkins, Chair of the Internet Research Task Force (IRTF), will serve as an ex-officio member of the IAB. See the IAB website for more information.

Internet Engineering Steering Group

The IESG is responsible for technical management of IETF activities and the Internet standards process, including final approval of specifications as Internet standards. The work of the IETF is organized into six technical areas and one administrative (general) area. The IESG consists of the area directors (ADs) for each area, who are each appointed for two-year terms. Members of the IESG beginning 29 March will be:

Applications and Real-Time (ART) Area

  • Murray Kucherawy, Facebook
  • Francesca Palombini*, Ericsson

General (GEN) Area

  • Lars Eggert*, NetApp

Internet (INT) Area

  • Erik Kline, Google
  • Éric Vyncke*, Cisco

Operations and Management (OPS) Area

  • Warren Kumari*, Google
  • Robert Wilton, Cisco

Routing (RTG) Area

  • Andrew Alston, Liquid Intelligent Technologies
  • Jim Guichard*, FutureWei
  • John Scudder*, Juniper

Security (SEC) Area

  • Roman Danyliw*, CERT/Software Engineering Institute
  • Paul Wouters, Aiven

Transport (TSV) Area

  • Martin Duke, Google
  • Zaheduzzaman Sarker*, Ericsson

In addition to his role as the Area Director for the General Area, Lars Eggert will serve as the IETF Chair. The IAB Chair also serves as an ex-officio member of the IESG. More information is available on the IESG webpage.

IETF Administration LLC Board of Directors

The IETF Administration LLC (IETF LLC) provides the corporate legal home for the IETF, the IAB, and the IRTF. Responsibilities of the IETF LLC include: supporting the ongoing operations of the IETF, managing the IETF's finances and budget, raising money on behalf of the IETF, and establishing and enforcing policies. Members of the IETF LLC Board of Directors are:

IETF Trust

The IETF Trust holds, licenses, and manages copyrights, trademarks, and other assets for the IETF, IANA, and other Internet groups. The IETF Trustees are:

A Word from the Nominating Committee

The members of the 2022-2023 IETF Nominating Committee thank all of the members of the community who offered to serve on the IESG, IAB, IETF LLC Board, and IETF Trust.

Additionally, our thanks go out to the many members of the community who have supported the NomCom process. This is primarily a community of volunteers and the NomCom is extremely grateful to everyone who aided us in our task.

With this announcement, the regular work of the 2022-2023 NomCom is at an end.

Share this page