Skip to main content
  • IETF 116 Yokohama registration now open

    Registration is now open for IETF 116 Yokohama

    • Jay DaleyIETF Executive Director
    24 Nov 2022
  • IETF 115 post-meeting survey

    IETF 115 London was held 5-11 November 2022

    • Jay DaleyIETF Executive Director
    22 Nov 2022
  • Catching up on IETF 115

    Recordings are now available for sessions held during the IETF 115 meeting and the IETF Hackathon, where more than 1500 participants gathered in London and online 5-11 November 2022.

      13 Nov 2022
    • Opportunities for university researchers and students during IETF 115

      The upcoming IETF 115 meeting in London on 5-11 November 2022 is a unique opportunity for networking researchers to learn how RFCs are written, to engage with the Internet standards community to begin to develop research impact, and to meet more than 1,000 leading technologists from around the world currently working in industry, academia, and other organizations.

        1 Nov 2022
      • Suggested IETF 115 Sessions for Getting Familiar with New Topics

        These IETF 115 meeting sessions are likely to include discussions and new proposals that are accessible to a broad range of Internet technologists whether they are new to the IETF or long-time participants.

          24 Oct 2022

        Filter by topic and date

        Filter by topic and date

        Reviewing and Assessing the IETF Administrative Support Activity

        • Jari ArkkoIETF Chair
        • Alissa Cooper

        14 Feb 2017

        The current IETF Administrative Support Activity (IASA) arrangements were created more than ten years ago when the IETF initially took charge of its own administration [1].

        Ranakpur Temple
        Photo credit: Acred99 in Wikimedia (CC BY-SA 3.0)

        The arrangements have served the IETF well, but there’s been considerable change in the necessary tasks and in the world around us since then [2]. What administrative arrangements will best support the IETF going forward?

        A series of virtual workshops have been arranged as part of an effort, dubbed the IASA 2.0 project, to gather community input as part of a review and possibly rework of IASA arrangements.

        The workshops will help understand what is working well and what challenges or missed opportunities exist in the current system. We also want to understand what the IETF will need in coming years. Possible topics include:

        • internal IASA and IAOC organizational issues;
        • roles and interfaces between the IETF, the IAOC, ISOC, the IESG, and contractors;
        • availability of staff, contractor, and volunteer resources compared to the administrative workload;
        • finance and sponsorship arrangements.

        The workshops will be virtual meetings where the participants can provide their experiences and suggestions. Proposed changes and solutions will be dealt with in a later phase [3]. Meeting notes and an Internet Draft summarizing the input will be produced afterwards.

        The agenda will be the same for both workshops, which are scheduled to accommodate participants in different timezones:

        IASA 2.0 Workshop 1
        Tuesday, 28 February 2017
        11:00 UTC (6:00AM ET / 12:00 noon CET)

        IASA 2.0 Workshop 2
        Tuesday, 28 February 2017
        16:00 UTC (11:00AM ET / 17:00 CET).

        These documents will be helpful to review in advance of the workshop:

        [1] http://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc4071
        [2] http://tools.ietf.org/html/draft-daigle-iasa-retrospective
        [3] https://www.ietf.org/blog/2016/11/proposed-project-ietf-administrative-support-2-0/

        This post will be updated with agenda and connection details when they are available.



        Share this page