Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF)
The IETF is the protocol engineering and development arm of the Internet. Though it existed informally for some time, the group was formally established by the IAB in 1986 with Phill Gross as the first Chair.

Internet Architecture Board (IAB)
The IAB is responsible for defining the overall architecture of the Internet, providing guidance and broad direction to the IETF. The IAB also serves as the technology advisory group to the Internet Society, and oversees a number of critical activities in support of the Internet.

The Internet Engineering Steering Group (IESG)
The IESG is responsible for technical management of IETF activities and the Internet standards process. As part of the ISOC, it administers the process according to the rules and procedures which have been ratified by the ISOC Trustees. The IESG is directly responsible for the actions associated with entry into and movement along the Internet "standards track," including final approval of specifications as Internet Standards.

Internet Society (ISOC)
The Internet Society is a professional membership organization of Internet experts that comments on policies and practices and oversees a number of other boards and task forces dealing with network policy issues.

Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA)
Based at ICANN, IANA is in charge of all "unique parameters" on the Internet, including IP (Internet Protocol) addresses. Each domain name is associated with a unique IP address, a numerical name consisting of four blocks of up to three digits each, e.g., which systems use to direct information through the network.

IETF Secretariat - Please send problem reports to