July 2018

## 2018 Jonathan B. Postel Service Award



## Jonathan B. Postel

- First editor of the IETF RFC Series
- Authored or co-authored more than
  200 RFCs
- First director of IANA

働

- Member of the IAB (1990-1993)
- Chair of the IRTF (1992-1995)
- First member of the Internet Society (1992)



Be conservative in what you do, be liberal in what you accept from others. - Robustness Principle, RFC 793



The Jonathan B. Postel Award was established by the Internet Society to honor individuals or organizations that, like Jon Postel, have made outstanding contributions in service to the data communications community.

Awardees are recognized with a crystal trophy and a USD 20,000 prize.



## Jonathan B. Service Award Past Honorees

1999: Jon Postel (posthumously)

2000: Scott Bradner

2001: Daniel Karrenberg

2002: Steve Wolff

2003: Peter Kirstein

2004: Phill Gross

2005: Jun Murai

2006: Bob Braden and Joyce K. Reynolds

2007: Nii Quaynor

鹯

2008: La Fundación Escuela Latinoamericana de Redes 2009: CSNET

2010: Prof. Jianping Wu

2011: Prof. Kilnam Chon

2012: Pierre Ouedraogo

2013: Elizabeth "Jake" Feinler

2014: Mahabir Pun

2015: Rob Blokzijl

2016: Kanchana Kanchanasut

2017: kc claffy

Jonathan B. Postel Award 2018 Honoree

Steven G. Huter

For his leadership and personal contributions at the Network Startup Resource Center that enabled countless others to develop the Internet in more than 120 countries.



July 2018

## 2018 Jonathan B. Postel Service Award

