IETF Nominating Committee (Nomcom):

Matthew Lepinski nomcom-chair@ietf.org

Nominees

- Individuals accepted nominations
 - 37 acceptances for 8 IESG positions
 - 17 acceptances for 6 IAB positions
 - 7 acceptances for 2 IAOC positions

 Thanks to everyone who was willing to serve in any of these leadership positions!

Community Feedback

- The Nomcom received input: in person (IETF 85), over the phone, via email and via our web tool
- In total, the Nomcom received input from roughly 130 members of the community
- We received input from a broad cross-section of the community including:
 - Past and current IESG/IAB members,
 Working group chairs, Document authors,
 IETF veterans and IETF newcomers
- Thanks to all who provided input to Nomcom!

NomCom Status

- The Nomcom process successfully filled:
 - 2 positions on the IAOC (including mid-term vacancy created by the resignation of Marshall Eubanks)
 - 7 positions on the IAB (including mid-term vacancy created by the resignation of Jari Arrko)
 - 7 positions on the IESG (the TSV AD position has not yet been filled)

IAOC

- The following individuals were confirmed to serve on the IAOC:
 - -Randy Bush
 - Chris Griffiths (filling the mid-term vacancy created by the resignation of Marshall Eubanks)

IAB

- The following individuals were confirmed to serve on the IAB:
 - -Alissa Cooper [incumbent]
 - -Joel Halpern [incumbent]
 - David Thaler [incumbent]
 - -Russ Housley
 - -Xing Li
 - Andrew Sullivan
 - Eliot Lear

(filling the vacancy created by Jari Arkko)

IESG

[IETF Chair]

- The following individuals were confirmed to serve on the IAB:
 - Jari Arkko
 - -Pete Resnick [APP, Incumbent]
 - -Ted Lemon [INT]
 - Joel Jaeggli [OPS]
 - -Richard Barnes [RAI]
 - Adrian Farrel [RTG, Incumbent]
 - Stephen Farrell [SEC, Incumbent]

TSV Area Director Position

- The Nomcom process has not yet succeeded in filling the TSV Area Director position vacated by Wes Eddy
 - My comments on this topic can be found on the IETF discussion list: http://www.ietf.org/mailarchive/web/ietf/current/msg77720.html
- I am optimistic that this situation will be resolved soon after IETF 86

Observations: RFC 5680

- RFC 5680 permits the Nomcom to make available an open list of individuals who have accepted a nomination
- This Nomcom (and the previous one) followed the recommendations of RFC 5680
- The use of RFC 5680 appears to increase both:
 - The volume of community input received by the Nomcom
 - The diversity of individuals from whom the Nomcom receives input

Observations: RFC 5633

- RFC 5633 permits the IETF Executive Director to put out the call for Nomcom volunteers prior to the appointment of the Nomcom chair
- The (optional) procedure described in RFC 5633 was NOT followed in 2012
- I was appointed on July 3. The Nomcom membership was not determined until Aug 12
- It is bad for the Nomcom membership to be determined after the summer IETF meeting
- I will make sure that the RFC 5633 procedure is used next year

Thank You

• Thanks to the voting members of the Nomcom for all of their hard work!

Dhruv Dhody Yi (Aaron) Ding **Toerless Eckert Jeff Haas David Meyer** Michael Richardson **Teemu Savolainen** Karen Seo Steven (Craig) White Leaf Yeh

Thank You

- Additionally, the Nomcom was assisted by an incredible set of liaisons and advisers:
 - -Marc Blanchet (IAB)
 - Scott Bradner (IAOC)
 - Suresh Krishnan (Past Nomcom Chair)
 - -Sean Turner (IESG)
 - -Rudi Vansnick (ISOC)