IETF Nominating Committee Report

Allison Mankin nomcom-chair-2013@ietf.org

Nomcom Process

- Nomcom is the process by which we select the IETF leadership: IESG, IAB, part of the IAOC
- Nomcom consists of 10 voting members randomly selected from a pool of volunteers
- Nomcom gathers nominations and feedback from the IETF community to assemble a slate of candidates that meets the needs of the community
- Nomcom provides effort, analysis, deliberation and via the 10 dedicated voting members who take this job, we get skilled leaders who have support of the IETF community.

Nomcom Information

- So far, publications via email to ietf-announce and the archive "Messages from the Nomcom" in the datatracker: https://datatracker.ietf.org/ann/nomcom/
- A Nomcom supporting tool has existed for some years.
 Public pages are generated via that tool.
- Nomcom 2013 will use a new tool version, migrating from stand-alone to datatracker-based.
- We do not yet have links to give you to the Nomcom 2013 pages
 - The migrated nomcom tool due by the end of this week.
 - nomcom-chair@ietf.org now points to me, as of last week. But I will encourage use of year-based identifiers, because overlaps can happen

Open Positions/Incumbents List

IAOC:

IESG:

Chris Griffiths

IAB:

Bernard Aboba

Marc Blanchet

Ross Callon

Eliot Lear

Hannes Tschofenig

Barry Leiba (Applications)

Brian Haberman (Internet)

Benoit Claise (Operations and

Management)

Gonzalo Camarillo (RAI)

Stewart Bryant (Routing)

Sean Turner (Security)

Martin Stiemerling (Transport)

How You Can Help

You already have done a lot!

- 156 eligible IETFers (having attended 3 of last 5 meetings) volunteered to serve on Nomcom, a record number
- I will recommend continuing checkbox at registration (with Chair following up to confirm)
- Verifiable random selection (RFC 3797) process completed July 22
- Members are organizing this week, including interviews of continuing IESG, IAB and IAOC for background

Nomcom 2013 Composition

Voting Members

Bo Burman, Ericsson

Shwetha Subray Bhandari, Cisco

Kiran Kumar (KK) Chittimaneni, Google

Tomohiro Fujisaki, NTT Labs

Hannes Gredler, Juniper

Olafur Gudmunsson, Shinkuro

Murray Kucherawy, Facebook

Adam Montville, Center for Internet Security

Marcin Pilarski, Warsaw University of Technology / Orange Polska

Michael Richardson, Sandelman

Non-Voting Members

Allison Mankin, Verisign Labs, Chair

Matt Lepinski, BBN, Past Chair

Alissa Cooper, CDT, IAB Liaison

Ole Jacobsen, Cisco, IAOC Liaison

Pete Resnick, Qualcomm, IESG Liaison

TBD (coming weekend), ISOC Liaison

How You Can Help – Nominate/ Self-Nominate

- Nominate talented individuals for leadership positions on the IESG, IAB, and IAOC
- Call for nominations planned within next few weeks (August)
- Nominate individuals that you believe are well suited for IETF leadership
 - You may nominate yourself
- Descriptions and background on all positions will be posted on the Nomcom 2013 Pages ASAP

How You Can Help: Feedback

- Provide feedback, candidate reviews
- We will call for feedback on nominees in September
- We are expecting to use RFC 5680 (Open List)
- General feedback on what issues we should consider in filling a particular position welcome at any time!
- Nomcom takes the confidentiality of all feedback very seriously
- We will begin taking feedback TBA / ASAP
 - Confidentiality support in nomcom tool

Finally

 Don't hesitate to email me with questions, concerns, or input for the nomcom

nomcom-chair-2013@ietf.org

And many thanks to:

You (for all those volunteers and for your help to come), the 2013 Nomcom (for their labors to come), the Secretariat, several of the past Chairs, and Henrik Levkowetz/Robert Sparks