IETF 90 Proceedings

Introduction  |  Area, Working Goup & BoF Reports  |  Plenaries  |  Training  |  Internet Research Task Force

IETF Overview

The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) provides a forum for working groups to coordinate technical development of new protocols. Its most important function is the development and selection of standards within the Internet protocol suite.

The IETF began in January 1986 as a forum for technical coordination by contractors for the then US Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), working on the ARPANET, US Defense Data Network (DDN), and the Internet core gateway system. Since that time, the IETF has grown into a large open international community of network designers, operators, vendors, and researchers concerned with the evolution of the Internet architecture and the smooth operation of the Internet.

The IETF mission includes:

Technical activities in the IETF are addressed within working groups. All working groups are organized roughly by function into seven areas. Each area is led by one or more Area Directors who have primary responsibility for that one area of IETF activity. Together with the Chair of the IETF/IESG, these Area Directors comprise the Internet Engineering Steering Group (IESG).

Name Area Email
Jari Arkko IETF Chair
Jari Arkko General Area
Alia Atlas Routing Area
Deborah Brungard Routing Area
Ben Campbell Applications and Real-Time Area
Benoit Claise Operations and Management Area
Alissa Cooper Applications and Real-Time Area
Spencer Dawkins Transport Area
Stephen Farrell Security Area
Brian Haberman Internet Area
Joel Jaeggli Operations and Management Area
Barry Leiba Applications and Real-Time Area
Terry Manderson Internet Area
Kathleen Moriarty Security Area
Alvaro Retana Routing Area
Martin Stiemerling Transport Area

Liaison and ex-officio members include:

Olaf Kolkman IAB Chair
Danny McPherson IAB Liaison
Michelle Cotton IANA Liaison
Sandy Ginoza RFC Editor Liaison
Alexa Morris IETF Secretariat Liaison

The IETF has a Secretariat, which is managed by Association Management Solutions, LLC (AMS) in Fremont, California.The IETF Executive Director is Alexa Morris (

Other personnel that provide full-time support to the Secretariat include:

Senior Meeting Planner Marcia Beaulieu
Project Manager Stephanie McCammon
Meeting Registrar Maddy Conner
Project Manager Cindy Morgan
Project Manager Amy Vezza

To contact the Secretariat, please refer to the addresses and URLs provided on the IETF Secretariat Web page.

The IETF also has a general Administrative Support Activity headed by the IETF Administrative Director, Ray Pelletier

The working groups conduct their business during the tri-annual IETF meetings, at interim working group meetings, and via electronic mail on mailing lists established for each group. The tri-annual IETF meetings are 4.5 days in duration, and consist of working group sessions, training sessions, and plenary sessions. The plenary sessions include technical presentations, status reports, and an open IESG meeting.

Following each meeting, the IETF Secretariat publishes meeting proceedings, which contain reports from all of the groups that met, as well as presentation slides, where available. The proceedings also include a summary of the standards-related activities that took place since the previous IETF meeting.

Meeting minutes, working group charters (including information about the working group mailing lists), and general information on current IETF activities are available on the IETF Web site at

Internet SocietyAMSHome - Tools Team - Datatracker - Web Site Usage Statistics - IASA - IAB - RFC Editor - IANA - IRTF - IETF Trust - ISOC - Store - Contact Us
Secretariat services provided by Association Management Solutions, LLC (AMS).
Please send problem reports to: