Skip to main content

Filter by topic and date

Filter by topic and date

New Internet Architecture Board, IETF Trust, IETF LLC and Internet Engineering Task Force Leadership Announced

12 Mar 2024

Members of the incoming Internet Architecture Board (IAB), the IETF Trust, the IETF Administration LLC (IETF LLC) Board of Directors, and the Internet Engineering Steering Group (IESG)—which provides leadership for the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF)—have been officially announced, with new members selected by the 2023-2024 IETF Nominating Committee.

The IETF sets technical standards for the global Internet and the IAB provides long-range technical direction for Internet development. 

The 2023-2024 IETF Nominating Committee (NomCom) chaired by Martin Thomson was responsible for considering candidates for open seats on the IETF LLC Board, the IETF Trust, the IAB, and the IESG. Candidates selected by the 2023-2024 NomCom are indicated by asterisks (*) in the lists below. Other members are continuing their existing terms.

The new IAB and IESG will be officially seated during the upcoming IETF 119 meeting scheduled to be held on 16-22 March 2024 in Brisbane, Australia. New members of the IETF Trust and IETF LLC Board will be seated at the next meetings of the respective bodies.

Internet Architecture Board

The IAB provides oversight and commentary on aspects of the Internet’s technical architecture. IAB members beginning with the IETF 119 meeting will be:

  • Matthew Bocci*, Nokia
  • Alissa Cooper*, Knight-Georgetown Institute (KGI)
  • Roman Danyliw*, Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) (as IETF Chair)
  • Dhruv Dhody, Huawei
  • Cullen Jennings*, Cisco
  • Wes Hardaker, USC/ISI
  • Suresh Krishnan, Cisco
  • Mirja Kühlewind*, Ericsson
  • Tommy Pauly*, Apple, Chair
  • Alvaro Retana, Futurewei
  • David Schinazi, Google
  • Christopher Wood, Apple
  • Qin Wu*, Huawei

Colin Perkins, Chair of the Internet Research Task Force (IRTF), will serve as an ex-officio member of the IAB. See the IAB website for more information.

Internet Engineering Steering Group

The IESG is responsible for technical management of IETF activities and the Internet standards process, including final approval of specifications as Internet standards. The work of the IETF is organized into six technical areas and one administrative (General) area. The IESG consists of the Area Directors (ADs) for each area, who are each appointed for two-year terms. Members of the IESG beginning 20 March will be:

Applications and Real-Time (ART) Area

  • Murray Kucherawy*, Facebook (one-year term)
  • Orie Steele*, Transmute (two-year term)

General (GEN) Area

  • Roman Danyliw*, CMU

Internet (INT) Area

  • Erik Kline*, Aalyria
  • Éric Vyncke, Cisco

Operations and Management (OPS) Area

  • Warren Kumari, Google
  • Mahesh Jethanandani*, Arrcus

Routing (RTG) Area

  • Jim Guichard, FutureWei
  • John Scudder, Juniper
  • Gunter Van de Velde*, Nokia

Security (SEC) Area

  • Deb Cooley*, affiliation TBD
  • Paul Wouters*, Aiven

Web and Internet Transport (WIT)

  • Francesca Palombini, Ericsson
  • Zaheduzzaman Sarker, Nokia

In addition to his role as the Area Director for the General Area, Roman Danyliw will serve as the IETF Chair. The IAB Chair also serves as an ex-officio member of the IESG. More information is available on the IESG webpage.

IETF Administration LLC Board of Directors

The IETF Administration LLC (IETF LLC) provides the corporate legal home for the IETF, the IAB, and the IRTF. Responsibilities of the IETF LLC include: supporting the ongoing operations of the IETF, managing the IETF's finances and budget, raising money on behalf of the IETF, and establishing and enforcing policies. Members of the IETF LLC Board of Directors are:

The IESG appointee to the IETF LLC Board will be decided and announced after the new IESG is seated on 20 March 2024.

IETF Trust

The IETF Trust acquires, holds, maintains and licenses intellectual property and other property used in connection with the Internet standards process. IETF Trustees are:

A Word from the Nominating Committee

The members of the 2023-2024 IETF Nominating Committee (NomCom) thank all of the members of the community who offered to serve on the IESG, IAB, IETF LLC Board, and IETF Trust.

Additionally, our thanks go out to the many members of the community who have supported the NomCom process, especially those who took the time to provide feedback. This is primarily a community of volunteers and the NomCom is extremely grateful to everyone who aided us in our task.

Finally, the NomCom Chair would like to thank all the members of the committee, both the voting volunteers and the various liaisons, for the dedication and thoughtfulness they brought to this very important job.

With this announcement, the regular work of the NomCom 2023-2024 is at an end.  

Share this page